Authentic Doodling

Energetic Release © Sue O’Kieffe 2010

I woke up around 1 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep. I was running a lot of energy with heartburn to boot. The Tums helped the heartburn but did nothing for all my excess energy.  I was feeling a little excited with understanding … you know those a-ha moments filled with big grok-kiness? I wanted to celebrate, but 1 a.m. is not the time for party music. So instead I had a little party on the page.

I had already started this doodle. At 1 a.m. the internal censor is barely awake and I just let myself feel into the page and let my hand go where it wanted — freely and unencumbered. All of the gunky energy I had been holding onto drained into the earth. I put on a party hat and threw confetti everywhere.

And when I was done, I turned out the lights. I wish I could say I slept soundly. It still took some time to relax. But sleep, I eventually did; and this morning I still feel excited and proud that I took the time to record these moments of awareness. That’s what it’s all about for me most these days, acknowledging  moments of deep authenticity that occur at some deep core level.

I totally recommend this practice.

SueDoodles

One thought on “Authentic Doodling

  1. Wonderful Party-Doodle!! It really does look like confetti, streamers and party hats toward the top! Glad you didn’t have to listen to that darn internal censor at that hour, must give this a try myself!!

Leave a Reply

