The Seeker

The Seeker © Sue O’Kieffe 2011

Wow. My first copyright mark of 2011. Feels kind of good! I don’t know about you, but I’m glad 2010 has gone buh-bye, so we can move on to new and better things. From some of the things I’ve been hearing and reading, 2011 sounds like good things are ahead. I’m ready! How about you?

This doodle was conceived last week,  in 2010,  during a power outage. I went and got fresh batteries for my flash light, propped it on my dresser so it shined on my sketch book, and had some fun for an hour or so. I couldn’t find a fresh black sharpie, so I decided the blue would do. And then I spent a couple of days adding color. I bought three new pencils for Christmas (poppy red, aquamarine, and light green), and they all have major roles in this doodle. I was also pleased that the quality of the aquamarine (oh, how I miss those Berol pencils) is almost as smooth and buttery as its predecessor. Perhaps Sanford has improved their formula. That would be nice.

I think it’s fitting that this figure seems to be carrying a lantern of sorts. Even doodles need help at times seeing in the dark!

To those of you who left comments on my last post, or let me know that I had been missed during my time away from here, I just want you all to know how much those comments meant to me. I am grateful. Very much.

~SueDoodles

9 thoughts on “The Seeker

  1. Hi Sue,

    I love this one and also your description of the pencils and colors you use. I just found out we have a special art supply in Encinnitas called Rhyno or Rino or something like that and am looking forward to checking it out.

  2. Give light, and the darkness will disappear of itself. ~ Erasmus
    On this day of your life, Joan, I believe God wants you to know…
    ..that there is a light which cannot ever be extinguished.
    It is inside of you. It is you. Let your light so shine upon the world that the world will know Who You Really Are — and its people will know
    why they really are as well, through the light of your
    example. The darkness of our world awaits you — not to engulf
    you, but to be transformed by you. During this Season of
    the Light, be its Source for all those who search for Joy.
    Love, Your Friend….neale
    What hurts you, blesses you. Darkness is your candle. —Rumi
    I’m starting to understand these quotes I saved during the last couple of weeks of 2010, from my various sources. Your doodle pulls this all together in a colorful and satisfying way, for me. The messages are there, everywhere…big changes on the way. You’ve channeled this, for me and all of us, through your doodle! thank you, thank you, thank you, Sue, for being the channel and the light in the darkness!!!
    Yes, I see this doodle’s lantern…as a beacon of hope. Love the blues, that was always my first “favorite” color…lovely.

    • I think that “Remembering Who We Really Are” and “Let Your Light Shine” will be big themes for many of us in 2011. Thanks for leaving these great quotes. ♥
      Sue

  3. I love your pictures. I used to spend hours doodling in boring meetings at work but I had no idea how beautiful a doodle could be. Or how much pictures such as yours could make me smile – thank you! I will be calling in on a regular basis from now on.

    • Hi Avril,
      I was never a doodler-in-boring-meeting type. Too bad! I probably wouldn’t have been so bored. Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to seeing you again!

Leave a Reply

