Vermillion

Vermillion © Sue O’Kieffe 2010

I took a much needed break. I was putting too much pressure on myself to produce, and that’s never a good sign. I created this doodle sometime in December, but I was unhappy with it and had no desire to post it. My inner critic was wah-wah-wah’ing at me.

If I remember correctly, this doodle started out as an exercise in wanting to play more with watercolor crayons. I am not as confident  with using these as I am with the prismacolors. I was not happy with the results. Today I am posting the doodle as a statement of it being ok. I told myself a year ago or so, whenever I started this series of what I call “spirit doodles” that whatever I posted was ok. And so it is.

I would love to hear your stories of how you make friends with your inner critics.

~SueDoodles

5 thoughts on “Vermillion

  1. Branching out are we??? That is when I really hear it from my little inner-monster!! But……when it’s something new for me I stand up to the little tyrant…..as you should too!! I really like that this doodle has a background color and really it’s got SUE flair all over it!! Good job 😀

    • Hey Eden,
      Next time Im sending my inner-critic to your house, and the two of them can play together (if that’s ok with you! 🙂 )

      Sue

  2. Oh, I love my watercolor crayons. I’m still learning what they can do. For me, the difference between them and my Prismacolors is they are “chunkier” and harder to get that fine control.

    Ahh… control. I tend to work too tight and want to “control” it. Maybe that is why your doodles speak to me so much. They always nudge me to let go, be free, play, enjoy, just have an adventure with it!

    Here is my first real experiment with the WC crayons. And I really did try to loosen up, and play like your doodles. No thumbnails or color scheme samples… just draw. 🙂
    http://lorettasjourney.blogspot.com/2010/09/sneaking-in-extra-for-toon-tuesday.html

    Loretta
    =^..^=

  3. Glad you’re back–have missed your doodles in my mailbox and was hoping you were just taking a break. Vermillion turned out just fine in spite of your inner critic. As Eden says, stand up to that little tyrant.

    When I’m not happy with a doodle I set it aside, sometimes for months, but eventually make myself finish it even if I still don’t like it. Occasionally I’m even surprised at the result–it turns out not to be quite as bad as I thought. It’s a good exercise in something or other. 🙂

    Your work inspires me to keep on doodling. One of these days I may get brave enough for color.

Leave a Reply

