Eye Aye I

Eye Aye I © Sue O’Kieffe 2010

This doodle wiggled its way out of me last night, so wanting to be expressed. I could not stop drawing those eyes. These are shapes that repeat often in my doodles. It’s like some wise part of me keeps asking “what do you see, Sue?”

I believe that we have certain symbols personal to ourselves. Eyes and spirals and flowers show up most often for me. This is my doodling language, my alphabet, and is one reason why I decided to stop working so much with zentangle patterns;  I wanted to express my own symbols and use my own language. I don’t care anymore if I keep repeating myself. It’s not about having to come up with something new everytime I put sharpie to paper. It’s about expressing what wants to be expressed from deep inside.

—–

And so it was with great honor, amazement and pride that I received a wonderful validation thi smorning, learning that SueDoodles was named one of the top 50 blogs on the net for medical art therapy by Rachel Davis of  RadiologyDegree.com Feels pretty darned good, I must say! You can read Rachel’s blog post here. Thank you Rachel, for totally making my day. Give this woman a standing ovation! Yeahhhhhhh!

SueDoodles

7 thoughts on “Eye Aye I

  1. Sue, I so agree about doodling what YOU want and what needs to be expressed! Love those eyes! And a BIG CONGRATS for your award!!!

    Way to go girl 😀 😀

    Off to read more about it.

  2. Congratulations! That must feel wonderful. One of the reason i love your doodling is that is unique and doesn’t follow any set of rules, just whatever you are feeling in the moment.

    I’ve struggled for years with an ‘I’m not good enough’ mentality and to see someone be themselves and be widely accepted and praised for that helps me immensley to realize that i just might be ‘okay’ too. Thanks for the inspiration. Deb

    • Hey Deb, thanks for leaving your comment. All I’ve wanted to do is just be myself and find my voice on paper. I’ve hoped along the way that leading by example and offering encouragement might help others too. Enjoy your time with pen and paper. You and me and the whole darned world are just fine the way we are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

