Raven Song – Or How I Finally Found My Voice

Raven Song  © Sue O’Kieffe 2010

Longish post ahead:

When I began doodling in 2007 for the November Create Every Day challenge, I had no idea how much it would change my life. It’s taken me a while to really own it all. What began as a way for me to create away from the computer (where I have another artistic life as a digital mandala maker), has now evolved into  a passion of equal importance. I have healed a big part of me who believed she could not draw. I now believe know I could do anything creatively I wanted to do, as long as it was something I really wanted to learn.

But where I hadn’t felt entirely cozy inside was knowing what it was I wanted to do with all of this stuff I was allowing myself to express.

A couple of weeks ago I was at Starbucks drinking a vanilla rooibos latte ( tad too sweet for my tastes, but that’s another story), mulling over this Big Question (how do I combine all of my passions and share them in a way that makes sense to me) and I watched this doodle of  Raven begin to emerge in the process.

And I heard Raven say to me there is no separation , and that stopped me dead in my tracks.

And in that moment a whole world of new possibilities opened up before me.

This is healing work Im doing. Art and healing is my passion. This is who I am.

My intention and goal is to have everything under the Big Top by the end of the year. One website, one blog, focusing on  the themes of healing and art and creativity and embracing who we are For Real.

That is all I know for now, but Im excited and can’t hardly wait to share even more.

Stay tuned for further developments!!

Sue Doodles

13 thoughts on “Raven Song – Or How I Finally Found My Voice

  1. Oh my goodness Sue !!! That post could have been written by me!!. I love the raven, but, more especially I identify with your questioning. If you check out my blog it has some doodles, or zentangle, and I think the bottom reminds me of a rhino.
    Keep up the good work, you are such an inspiration to me.

  2. Aloha Sue,
    It always feels so good to meet kindred spirits. I too am an artist of the spirit who practices string figures and Zentangle as a healing art. In Hawaii we use ho’omanamana or the imparting of influence or healing energy into the creation of art. The healing is both for ourselves and also for anything or anyone connected to the art that was created with healing intent. I Whisper Aloha into every Zentangle I create. Embracing you and your healing art with Whispers of Aloha.

  3. Yes! I couldn’t agree more. I love your doodles…and they are so archtypical and important for where we all are subconciously. Collectively. Trying to filter all experience thru the heart chakra. I’m so glad to be alive, here, during this time. Rock on with your art…its awesome!

  4. Dear Sue, an eloquent statement of vision and power! Such a joy to witness and share the inspiration of your journey!

    Here’s to ever more light! SueZen

  5. Sue,
    Congrats on making and acting upon a huge decision. It makes complete sense to bring it all together under one umbrella. Your art – the unifying factor. It will be intriguing to see your varied creations together. And easier to manage!
    Tammy

Leave a Reply

