BREAKING CREATIVE RULES

fruitly-doo

FRUITILY-DOO @ Sue O’Kieffe 2009

I have some resistance to trying out new things artistically when I’m not sure I will like the results. I have been thinking about this shadow part of myself the past few days and talking about it with one of my online groups. Then this morning I read Dan Goodwin‘s blog post today about allowing ourselves to get messy creatively. I don’t have any trouble recognizing my illusions of perfectionism, but owning up to the voices attached to that attitude takes some willingness to listen. Last night I was doodling ; the dragon emerged as well as the one-eyed tyrant sitting on top. It took a little more internal prodding to convince myself to use colored markers rather than my usual prismacolor pencils.

The initial image morphed into another idea once I brought it into Photoshop for editing.

fruitly-doodle-dala2

FRUITILY-DOODLE-DALA © Sue O’Kieffe 2009

One of the things I felt when using these markers was out of control. But I think it was worth it, because I like the end results and will enjoy seeing how else I can play.

What we resist persists. Or as the Borg Collective used to say Resistance is Futile!

~suedoodles

3 thoughts on “BREAKING CREATIVE RULES

  1. At least you have something to resist to, that is a lot in itself. I have to pull the ideas out of my very being and that is a lot of work. I wish I would have to put up resistance to something. It would mean I was brimming with ideas.

  2. Yep, creation is messy…all that messy chaos contains the possibility of something absolutely new. It’s how we all got here! Go Girl!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

